Pechtregon Cycles

Pechtregon Cycles Concours de Machines 2016

Matthieu fell for cycling when he was very young, and it's been hard for him to get over it. It takes time in life... In his childhood, he used to tinker bicycles, then, the adolescence crisis led him to cut frames and modify them, and quickly to build them. An internship in Sunn, when it was big, and after crossing the US, trip during which he kept learning with Jeremy & Jay Sycip for a year. He's been loving  building structures ever since: bikes, trailers, furnitures, buildings...

Since about 4 years ago, he progressively started to associate the construction of every kind of bicycles with his designer activities. Frames, forks, stem, seat tubes, some parts processed here and there, TIG weld essentially, and a delicate braze when necessary. 

Generally, everything starts with word-to-mouth. Then a certain meeting, a bicycle trial, discussions, an arrangement, and more importantly the need for a common understanding. All the Pechtregon bicyles are the crossing of these chromosomes with the ones of their owners.

Pechtregon Cycles

Pechtregon Cycles Concours de Machines 2016

Matthieu est "tombé" dans le vélo quand il était tout petit, et il a eu beaucoup de mal à s'en remettre. Ca prend du temps dans une vie... Après avoir bricolé des vélos durant toute son enfance, sa crise de l'adolescence l'a poussé à couper des cadres et les modifier, puis rapidement à en construire. Un passage en stage chez Sunn, à la grande époque, puis après une traversée des US, où il a continué d'apprendre avec Jeremy & Jay Sycip durant un an. Depuis il a toujours aimé construire des structures : des vélos, des remorques, des meubles, des bâtiments...

Depuis 4 ans environ, il a progressivement associé la construction de toutes sortes de bicyclettes au reste de ses activités de designer. Des cadres, des fourches, des potences, des tiges de selle, quelques pièces usinées par-ci par-là, un coup de soudure TIG majoritairement, une brasure délicate lorsque la douceur s'impose.

Tout commence par le bouche à oreille, souvent. Puis une rencontre, l'essai d'un vélo, des discussions, une entente, et surtout le besoin d'une compréhension mutuelle. Toutes les bicyclettes Pechtregon sont le croisement de ses chromosomes et de ceux de leur propriétaire.